Term Limits Caucus

The Founding Fathers never intended for public service to be a long term career. Elected officials were to sacrifice their time for a limited period and then return to private life. As George Mason once said, “Nothing so strongly impels a man to regard the interest of his constituents, as the certainty of returning to the general mass of the people, from whence he was taken, where he must participate in their burdens.”

Unfortunately, history has shown this is not the case. Today’s politicians often care more about their next re-election than serving the country. Members of Congress retain their positions for decades despite limited effectiveness due to the power of incumbency and other inherent advantages of the position.

But term limits would allow elected officials to seriously consider the effects of the policies they enact. Recorded votes will mean much more — the electorate will expect true action from Congress and will not allow Members to keep their position by relying on talking points and avoiding the tough political questions. And with a limit on the time they may serve, Members can dare to be bold and put the success of the nation before their own political ambitions and careers.

The Term Limits Caucus engages Members with similar viewpoints on the nature of public service and conduct outreach to explain why the adoption of term limits will help our country. This bipartisan caucus was established in the 114th Congress by co-chairs, Congressman Rod Blum (R-IA-01) and Congressman Beto O’Rourke (D-TX-16).

Current Membership List

  • Rep. Jodey Arrington (R-TX-19)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE-02)
  • Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY-06)
  • Rep. Rod Blum (R-IA-01), Co-Chair
  • Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK-01)
  • Rep. Susan Brooks (R-IN-05)
  • Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL-01)
  • Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH-01)
  • Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO-06)
  • Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL-06)
  • Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04)
  • Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI-07)
  • Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC-03)
  • Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-08)
  • Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD-01)
  • Rep. Jody Hice (R-GA-10)
  • Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC-08)
  • Rep. Frank Lucas (R-OK-03)
  • Rep. Tom Marino (R-PA-10)
  • Rep. David McKinley (R-WV-01)
  • Rep. Francis Rooney (R-FL-19)
  • Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-TX-16), Co-Chair
  • Rep. Steven Palazzo (R-MS-04)
  • Rep. Robert Pittenger (R-NC-09)
  • Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL-08)
  • Rep. Tom Rice (R-SC-07)
  • Rep. Keith Rothfus (R-PA-12)
  • Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ-06)
  • Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY-22)

For more information or if you are a Member of Congress who would like to join the Term Limits Caucus, please contact Alexah Rogge at Alexah.Rogge@mail.house.gov and follow the Term Limits Caucus
on Twitter @HouseTermLimits

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.