Rep. Blum Presents Awards to IA01 High School Students

Congressional Merit Awards Presented to Top High School Students

f t # e
WASHINGTON, May 31, 2018 | Alexah Rogge (202-225-2911) | comments
Congressman Rod Blum held three district events to present an outstanding student from each high school in Iowa's First District with a Congressional Merit Award to highlight their accomplishments.

The first ceremony was held at the Hotel Winneshiek in Decorah to honor:
Abraham Schwartz from Waukon High School
Cody Mueller from Central Community School
Alicia Klimesh from Turkey Valley High School
Jarod Phillips from Decorah High School (not pictured)
Spencer Kuhn from Riceville High School
Karissa Stika from Crestwood High School
Theodore Baldus from St. Angsar High School (not pictured) 

The second ceremony was held at the University of Dubuque Heritage Center to honor:
Maeve Breslin from Wahlert Catholic High School
Brent Thier from Beckman Catholic High School
Jenna Springer from Hempstead High School
Paige Lampe from Marquette Catholic High School
Gannon O’Brien from Cascade High School
Nadia Waid from Dubuque Senior High School (not pictured)
Drew Daly from Western Dubuque High School

The third and final award ceremony was held at the Clarion Inn University Plaza in Cedar Falls to honor:
Brian Sadler from Jesup High School
Jordan Trost from Waterloo West High School
Kristian Heidemann from Tripoli High School
Colin Beck from Denver High School
Elvina Ibricic from Waterloo East High School
Miranda Ulses from Columbus Catholic High School
Elias Mpundu from Cedar Falls High School

Rep. Blum commented, "The Congressional High School Merit Awards are awarded to students who have been nominated by their principal for demonstrating excellent academic performance and upstanding character. These honorees are incredibly bright and well-deserving of these awards; this is a wonderful opportunity to reward their hard work and spend time with the future leaders of Iowa's First District."

The High School Merit Award is awarded to a graduating senior from each high school in the first district. The student selected for the award was nominated by their school, for being an outstanding student and citizen of their community. Students receiving this award have achieved a 3.5 GPA or higher, show leadership in their school and in their community, are involved in extracurricular activities, show school citizenship, volunteerism, and community service.

f t # e

Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.